Green Jokes

I had coffee with a close friend of mine last night. We had a very fruitful talk and I really enjoy it when we have talks like that every now and then. We talked about a lot of things but there’s one thing that she opened up that really caught my attention.

Before I get there, let me tell you a few things about her.

We’ve been friends for more or less 8 years and she’s like a little sister to me.

She’s a “wild flower“. Not your typical girly girl. She’s outgoing. She’s got a very strong personality and she’s an engineer just like me.

She’s a great person and one thing about her that’s really highly commending is that her stand when it comes to her purity is very high.

In an environment filled with men who does a lot of sweet and dirty talks (some people may or may not agree with me but when you’re in the engineering industry, this is something to be expected), she’s kept her heart guarded and locked up. Preparing for that one guy that God has prepared for her. (I think she’s already found the guy though. ☻ )

So, yeah. She knows that her body is the temple of the Holy Spirit and she’s really doing a great job keeping herself pure.

Going to the issue:

We have a lot of common friends and I really know what she meant when she said:

“Green jokes are funny. Especially when they are delivered by the jokers.

But I feel violated sometimes.”

I didn’t know what to say to that. Honestly.

I mean, I haven’t been cracking green jokes for a long time now. I can’t even remember the last time I did. But to hear that from a girl, though I’m not the one who actually did it, is like a slap on the face.

I guess this is actually a shout out to all the men out there.

Such girls exist. We may sometimes think like this.

“Ang arte naman neto.”

Back then, when I was still a lost soul, I even use this:

“Pa-virgin naman to.”

And I feel so ashamed right now just writing that down. Remembering how I used to violate a lot of women because of my words.

I can’t get it off my mind.

“Sometimes, I feel violated.”

 

But I want to thank her for being honest. This is an additional push for me to disciple men. To lead and exhort men to protect women even from ourselves.

So for those who are reading this:

If you’re a man, your calling is to lead and protect women. Not to violate or harass them physically or emotionally.

If you’re a woman, don’t let any man violate you.

And I would like to apologize now. On behalf of all men, We’re sorry for violating you.

Please know that we are doing what we can to reach out to all other men and to teach them how to respect and protect you.

Until then, please pray for us too. As imperfect as we are, we will still have mistakes along the way.

Please bear with us and please let us know if you feel uneasy or violated. I know that we’re supposed to be the one who’s drawing boundaries but please strengthen your fences too so that even if we don’t get to draw the right lines, your fences are high and we will not be able to cross.

Men. Let us not defraud our sisters in Christ.

Remember:

To whom you are not married is your sister in Christ. Let us be respectful. ALWAYS.

 

 

Leave a comment